forgotten/lost/miscellaneous

hiroshi watanabe/motherhood and masks/a world in flux

“Motherhood is the strangest thing, it can be like being one’s own Trojan horse.”
Rebecca West

“I go to places that captivate and intrigue me. I am interested in what humans do. I seek to capture people, traditions, and locales that first and foremost are of personal interest. I immerse myself with information on the places prior to leaving, but I try to avoid firm, preconceived ideas. I strive for both calculation and discovery in my work, keeping my mind open for surprises. At times, I envision images I’d like to capture, but when I actually look through the viewfinder, my mind goes blank and I photograph whatever catches my eye. Photographs I return with are usually different from my original concepts. My photographs reflect both genuine interest in my subject as well as a respect for the element of serendipity, while other times I seek pure beauty. The pure enjoyment of this process drives and inspires me. I believe there’s a thread that connects all of my work — my personal vision of the world as a whole. I make every effort to be a faithful visual recorder of the world around me, a world in flux that, at very least in my mind, deserves preservation.”

Hiroshi Watanabe

click on thumbnails for fullsize images


2 responses

  1. Andrej

    I really appreciate your photos on this page. You’ve really captured life as it happens and yet there is an emotional, simple, and artistic way you’ve captured your subjects. Thank you!

    16/11/2010 at 6:23 pm

    • Many thanks for your comment, I am glad you enjoyed this article and continue to visit us in the future.

      22/11/2010 at 12:20 am

Leave a Reply

